Waterton National Park

dsc_3966

Waterton, Alberta. Part of the International Peace Park, along with Glacier in Montana.

One of my favorite places in the world. You might recognize a similar shot as the header for my blog!

I’m counting down the days until I am here again. The first thing I will do will be the Bear’s Hump hike to take in the view of the town of Waterton and the surrounding mountains. Everyone must try this hike – it doesn’t take long at all, and the view at the top is breathtaking!

10 thoughts on “Waterton National Park

        1. I’ve been on several there that have all been beautiful. Try Bear’s Hump first – it’s quite short (but steep). It gives you a spectacular view of the townsite.

          I also really enjoyed Forum Lake and Wall Lake hikes (my old blog has a write up about them http://wistfullywandering.wordpress.com/2012/05/09/a-hike-across-two-provinces/).

          The best hike, in my opinion (and of many locals) is Carthew-Alderson (http://wistfullywandering.wordpress.com/2012/10/10/hike-1-this-summer-carthew-alderson-waterton-alberta/). This hike takes probably 6-8 hrs for the average person, though.

          I also really enjoyed Crypt Lake – it’s for a hiker that enjoys a challenge, and is also probably at least double the amount of time you are looking for (http://wistfullywandering.wordpress.com/2011/08/20/get-outta-my-way/).

          Hope you enjoy your time in Waterton. Can’t wait to hear about it!

          1. Thanks for the tips! I guess I’m more used to Jasper where there are lots of short hikes that loop back to where you started. Waterton looks a lot different, but it sounds like some of those long ones are worth it!

            1. It’s quite different. Both gorgeous! I would also recommend going to the tourist information building to ask about shorter hikes. Hope you have a wonderful time!

Leave a Reply

